He was 97,

my grandfather. He’s supposed to be 98 on April 20 and continue on to be a legendary figure in our family.

He’s had heart problems in his 70s. The doctors didn’t do any operation on him then, because of his age, not knowing he’d be around for almost three decades more.

He’s outlived his wife for 50+ years, a son-in-law (my dad), and an “ex girlfriend,” among many others.

I remember, one of the things he shared with me was his belief that no one should be alone; which was why he rushed to find a replacement for my grandma as soon as she died, much to the chagrin of the family.

He was on the nebulizer when he passed on. No final exhale or distress in breathing. One of his nurse daughters was beside him, holding up the mask for the machine, and was feeling his pulse. Then she signaled to a cousin doctor who sadly confirmed that he has gone.

My scarf was sacrificed to be tied around his face to keep his mouth closed until the funeral guys arrived and rigor mortis sets in. Heaven forbid that we’d have him viewed by friends and family with his mouth agape.

It was my second time to be right there upon death. First one was my dad’s.

But it’s my first time to enter a funeral parlor and actually choose the casket to be used. So surreal.

Dear Lolo, I hope to live as long as you have and experience the love and company of all my kids, grandkids, and great grandkids. It doesn’t matter now how naughty you were; we just relish having an almost-century-old father figure in our lives.

– –
Eternal rest grant unto Feliciano Nicolas, Sr, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon him.
May he rest in peace. Amen.

still figuring things out..

Leave a comment